Creepy photos

ImageImageImageImageImage

 

Weird photos from my grandma and granpa’s house in the late 70′s/early 80′s. It looked almost exactly the same when me and my brothers and my dad would go visit 30 years later. Thinking about memory, and how being at that house is one of the most vivid memories, for whatever reason. I’ve made some art relating to this too. Besides that though, I’m thinking of the influence of that house on my aesthetics and personality. Also, I’m thinking of autobiography through narrative. I’m interested in the idea of telling a story that may not be about myself per-say, but is in a way autobiographical. The merging of memoir and autobiography and fiction, is something that Lynda Barry has talked about a lot in relation to her work (one of the main reasons I’m so interested in her work right now), and I’m finding it useful to think about what doing that might imply, and if it can be pulled off. 

Interview with Lynda Barry from Tinhouse mag// :

http://www.tinhouse.com/blog/12855/from-the-vault-lynda-barry.html

“LB: The most autobiographical work I’ve done has been in 100 Demons. I grew up in a Filipino family. My dad split when I was twelve. My mom’s side of the family all speaks Tagalog and there were always various Filipino relatives living with us, a lot of them just coming to the U.S. and speaking rough English. All our food was Filipino except for TV dinners, and the style of living was very much first generation American. Quite different from Marlys and Arna! But I love that people refuse to believe that the comic strips that have Marlys in them are not about me. They must seem very real somehow. I guess it’s a compliment.

It’s funny that people really do think of my work as autobiographical, but I’ve always had a harder time writing/drawing stories about things that happened to me. I do write them but I don’t especially like to show anyone. Some images are for other people and some are not. It’s kind of like a kid playing. Sometimes playing is a very private thing that actually can’t happen unless the private part is there. Playing isn’t for others.” 

 

So I guess it isn’t always intentional in the first place! 

Leave a Reply

