Botanical illustrations

 

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

 

I’m finding these to be really aesthetically appealing to me lately. I like the simplicity of the illustrations and the way that the forms float on the page, and I also love the way that each item is labelled, for the sake of identification of course. I tend to enjoy labels also for their directness and am interested in labeling or identifying scenes that I draw with text. So there are some correlations here. Also have been looking at Anna Atkins’ beautiful cyanotype prints. They’re executed in the simplest way, just by laying different plants onto coated light-sensitive paper, but they have a really unusual effect to me, a little bit abstract and mysterious, but also direct in their intent to lay out specimens. 

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

