Civil War Reenactments

     Thinking about replication in a more abstract sense. When I was younger my brothers did civil war reenactments, and I would go see them. It was a pretty weird experience. I was talking with someone about Nostalgia and some of its problems, and the fact that sometimes, an interest in antiquated forms of image-making or other technologies doesn’t lead anywhere except to a kind of weird re-hashing and reenactment of things that already happened. I know in reenactments too, authenticity is crucial. There is an extreme effort put into creating an authentic moment, one that accurately represents that era. The weirdness of civil war reenactments makes me think about duplication in some ways. And of all things to reproduce, I have to wonder why war would be so important. I’d like to work with specific memories in some prints I’m working on, and am thinking about the reenactments in a way I hadn’t before. A few collected images of civil war reenactment moments and WWII reenactments:

Image

 

Image

 

Image

Lincoln!!!

 

Image

Also Lincoln!!!

 

Image

Not sure what’s going on here.  . .

 

Image

“Old Photo” look

 

Image

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

Leave a Reply

